We take a look back at how the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have grown over the last 10 years.

1 December 2017

Since 2008 the awards have grown to recognise and celebrate Australia’s talented writers, historians and illustrators across six categories.

Over the past 10 years, over 4,000 entries have been submitted and $4,750,000 in prize money has been awarded to 223 authors and illustrators.

  • 2008: The awards debut with just two categories—fiction and non-fiction. Australian authors responded positively with 199 entries submitted in the first year.
  • 2010: Two new categories are introduced, children’s and young adult, acknowledging the important role Australian books play in helping young minds develop an appreciation of literature, culture and identity.
  • 2012: The poetry category is added, highlighting the significant contribution this art-form makes to Australian literature. The Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History is also integrated with the Prime Minister’s Literary Award, reflecting the important contribution Australian historians make to our contemporary understanding of Australia’s past.
  • 2017: The Awards mark 10 years of celebrating great Australian writing.  More than 450 entries are submitted to be considered for the six award categories: fiction, non-fiction, children’s, young adult, poetry and Australian history.

Find out more: