The 2015 Prime Minister's Literary Awards winners were announced today by Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield at an event in Sydney.

The 2015 winning authors are to be commended for sharing these Australian stories which capture the complexity of contemporary life and insightfully reflect on the past.

From a children's book set on the shores of Gallipoli, to the collected works of a distinguished Australian poet, these books demonstrate the breadth and creativity of Australia's literary sector.

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards celebrate the exceptional talent of Australia's writers, illustrators and historians who are to be congratulated for their contribution to the richness of Australian cultural life.

There was an outstanding body of work shortlisted this year and thanks go to the judging panels for their work in considering 465 entries this year. The judging panels have brought their expertise and a love of books to the awards, resulting in an excellent collection of shortlisted books from which winners have been selected.

Read the full 2015 Prime Minister's Literary Awards winners media release.