17 November 2017

Prime Minister Malcom Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield have announced the shortlist for the 2017 Prime Minister's Literary Awards.

The 30 shortlisted books showcase the breadth and depth of Australia's literary talent across six categories—fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction, children's fiction and poetry.

The expert judging panels had the demanding task of selecting the shortlists from more than 450 entries this year. The selected works range from contemplative but captivating children's and young adult stories; thought provoking novels and poetry that immerse readers in the human experience; through to accomplished non-fiction books and powerful accounts of Australian history.

This year marks 10 years since the first Prime Minister's Literary Awards took place in 2008.

The winners will be announced in the coming weeks.

Find out more: