The 2018 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlists have been announced.

17 October 2018

The Awards recognise Australia’s literary talent across six categories: fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult literature, children’s literature and poetry.

The judging panels received more than 500 entries this year across the six categories, with 30 titles shortlisted.

This year saw entries to the Awards from some of Australia’s most prominent and distinguished authors, as well as some promising emerging writers. The shortlisted works present: powerful books that reflect on issues currently affecting society in the children’s and young adult literature categories; works which exploration the complexity of human experience in fiction and poetry; and, skilfully written, well-researched and compelling works in non-fiction and Australian history.

The Awards play an important role in supporting a national appreciation of Australian literature and increasing our understanding of Australian history, and provide acknowledgement and recognition for authors and illustrators. 

The winners will be announced later this year.

Find out more:
•    Read the joint media release
•    View the 30 shortlisted titles and the judges’ comments