This year's winners were revealed at a livestreamed event from the National Library of Australia!

10 December 2020

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards encourage a national appreciation of Australian literature and support increased understanding of Australian history.

Join us as we congratulate the winners on their outstanding achievement and celebrate Australian literary excellence.

2020 winners

Fiction: 'The Yield' by Tara June Winch

Non-fiction joint winners:
'Songspirals: sharing women's wisdom of Country through songlines' by the Gay'wu Group of Women
'Sea People: The Puzzle of Polynesia' by Christina Thompson

Poetry: 'The Lost Arabs' by Omar Sakr

Children's literature: 'Cooee Mittigar: A Story on Darug Songlines' by Jasmine Seymour, illustrated by Leanne Mulgo Watson

Young adult literature: 'How it Feels to Float' by Helena Fox

Australian history: 'Meeting the Waylo: Aboriginal Encounters in the Archipelago' by Tiffany Shellam

Find out more