Celebrating another year of great Australian literature.

3 February 2022

The 2022 Prime Minister's Literary Awards are now open.

The Awards recognise and celebrate the exceptional literary talents of established and emerging Australian writers, illustrators, poets and historians.

If you had a work published during 2021 you may be eligible to enter this year's Awards. We are seeking entries of high literary merit and, in the case of the prize for Australian history, scholarly accomplishment.

There are six categories of Awards:

  • children's literature
  • young adult literature
  • fiction
  • poetry
  • non-fiction
  • Australian history

Entries should be made through GrantConnect before 4 March 2022. There are no entry fees.

Australian history entries can be submitted in a range of formats including journals, magazines, an interactive or online project, film or documentary.

Read more on the Prime Minister's Literary Awards website.