Eight of Australia’s leading artists and arts workers have been recognised in the annual Australia Council Awards for their outstanding contributions to the artistic and cultural vibrancy of the nation.

8 March 2018

These prestigious Awards recognise exceptional contributions to music, literature, visual arts, dance, emerging and experimental arts, and community arts and community development.

Nominated by industry peers, the eight recipients join an esteemed and diverse group of past winners, including Archie Roach, Kate Grenville and Stephen Page. 

This year’s recipients, honoured during a special ceremony at Carriageworks in Sydney on 6 March, are:

  • Bruce Pascoe – Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature
  • Liza Lim – Australia Council Don Banks Music Award
  • Pat Brassington – Australia Council Award for Visual Arts
  • Nigel Helyer – Australia Council Award for Emerging & Experimental Arts
  • Phillip Adams – Australia Council Award for Dance
  • Liz Jones AO – Australia Council Award for Theatre
  • Christian (Bong) Ramilo – Australia Council Ros Bower Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development
  • Edwin Kemp Attrill – Australia Council Kirk Robson Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development

Find out more: