Recipients for the 2017 Community Heritage Grants Program have been announced.

24 October 2017

More than $350,000 will be provided to 56 community organisations with projects ranging from indigenous artists and sustainable farmers to aviation history enthusiasts and embroiderers.

Community organisations such as museums, public libraries, archives, historical societies and indigenous and multicultural groups can apply for grants of up to $15,000 per project.

The program offers grants for community organisations to assist in the preservation and protection of publically accessible collections of national significance. Projects supported include assessment of collections, collection management, conservation activities and training workshops.

Since the program began in 1994, it has provided more than $6.5 million to community organisations across Australia.

Find out more:

Photo caption:

BACK ROW: Marie-Louise Ayres (NLA), Ann Campton (DoCA), Peter Condon (Trustees of the Roman Catholic Church for the Diocese of Bathurst), Robert Baker (Kew Historical Society), Roger Meyer (Civil Aviation Historical Society), Edith Fry (City of Ballarat), Michelle Samson (Cunderdin Museum);
MIDDLE ROW: Daniel Rozas Nunez (Murdoch Library), Lindsay Cox (Trustee For The Salvation Army (NSW) Property Trust), Anna Hirsh (Jewish Holocaust Centre), Jan Muller (NFSA), Mathew Trinca (NMA), Derek Carter (Bawinanga Aboriginal Corporation), Shemiah Prudence (Bawinanga Aboriginal Corporation);
SEATED: Annette Shiell (Royal Agriculture Society of Victoria), Vivien Johnson (Papunya Tjupi Arts), Jenna Blyth (Shrine of Remembrance (Vic.)), Deb Gibbons (Royal Far West), Penelope McDonald (Central Australian Aboriginal Media Associations), Michelle Culpitt (Bawinanga Aboriginal Corporation).