Submit your entry into one of the 6 categories today!
22 January 2020

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards provide national recognition for the extraordinary work of Australian authors, historians, illustrators and poets, and are now open for entries.

If you have published a work during 2019 you may be eligible to enter the 2020 Awards in one of the 6 categories—children's literature, young adult literature, fiction, poetry, non-fiction, and Australian history. Enter before 28 February 2020.

Apply now

Australian Government. Prime Minister's Literary Awards. PMLA 202 entries now open. Entries close 28 February 2020. Visit

Update your reading list!

Check out the books shortlisted in last year's #PMLitAwards and add them to your reading list. From fiction, to Australian history, poetry and young adult literature, there's sure to be something for everyone. Take a look.

2019 recap

The 2019 Awards ceremony was filled with good humour, surprise and heartfelt acknowledgements. Take a look at the highlights and photos.

You can also use augmented reality to discover more about this year's entries:

  • Go to and allow access to your camera.
  • Grab a hardcopy or image of the book cover and tap 'scan a book cover'. Hold it still until the scan is complete, then press 'play video'.
  • You can also tap 'explore' and move your device around to find the 2019 showcase.
  • When the video is finished, choose the 'explore more books' button to see more content.

Find out more