The recipients of the 2018 National Indigenous Arts Awards have been announced.

30 May 2018

The Awards, hosted by the Australia Council, celebrate both established and emerging Indigenous artists and recognise their significant contribution to Australian art and culture. The awards are held each year on 27 May, the anniversary of the 1967 referendum and the beginning of Reconciliation Week.

The 2018 recipients are:

  • The Dreaming Award – Thomas E.S. Kelly
  • The Red Ochre Award –Mavis Ngallametta and John Mawurndjul AM  
  • The 2018 Australia Council Fellowship – Hetti Perkins  

The Dreaming Award was introduced in 2012 to recognise and encourage young, emerging artists to grow in their creative discipline.

The Red Ochre Award was established by the Australia Council’s former Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board in 1993 to recognise a senior Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person for their outstanding lifetime achievement in the arts.

The Australian Council Fellowship gives a recognised mid-career artist support for two years to develop a major creative project.

For more information visit the Australia Council’s website.

Image: (left to right) Rupert Myer AO, Hetti Perkins, Mavis Ngallametta, Tony Grybowski, John Mawurndjul AM , Thomas E.S. Kelly and Lee-Ann Buckskin.