If you had a work published or released during 2018 you may be eligible to enter this year’s Awards.

7 February 2019

Established in 2008, the Awards help to support Australian authors and promote the importance of Australian literature. 

Entries are sought for books of high literary merit, and in the case of the prize for Australian history, scholarly accomplishment.

Last year more than 500 entries were received from emerging and established writers and illustrators across a range of genres, highlighting the diversity of Australia’s literary sector.

Awards are presented across six categories: 

  • children’s literature
  • young adult literature
  • fiction
  • poetry
  • non-fiction
  • Australian history

There are no entry fees and entries for the Australian history category can be submitted in a range of formats including journals, magazines, an interactive or online project, film or documentary. 

Prize money is awarded in each category with up to $80,000 for winners and $5,000 for shortlisted books.   

Entries should be submitted through our website and close on 15 March 2019 at 5pm (AEST). 

Find out more: