The Meeting of Cultural Ministers comprises the Australian, state and territory government arts and culture ministers.

The Australian Local Government Association, the Australia Council for the Arts and the Government of New Zealand are invited as observers.

The Meeting of Cultural Ministers was established in 2012 to follow the work of the Cultural Ministers Council.

Meetings are conducted annually and discussion encompasses areas of national significance and mutual interest, including the creative arts, performing arts, Indigenous culture, film and digital media, and collections.

At the end of each meeting the discussions and outcomes are summarised and made publicly available via communique.

The Meeting of Cultural Ministers is advised and assisted by an Officials Working Group and has a number of working groups which progress government priorities. The secretariat role rotates among the jurisdictions. The current secretariat is the Government of Western Australia.