The former Cultural Ministers Council (CMC) was an intergovernmental forum for ministers responsible for culture and the arts in Australia and New Zealand and invited observers from the Australian Local Government Association, Norfolk Island and Papua New Guinea. 

CMC operated under the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Broad Protocols and General Principles of Operation for Ministerial Councils.

CMC was established in 1984–85 by agreement between Australia's Prime Minister and Premiers and the Northern Territory's Chief Minister. The first meeting was held on 19 November 1985 in Brisbane.

In 1990 the Australian Capital Territory became a full member following its change to self-government. In 1991 New Zealand became a full member in lieu of its previous observer status.

In 2011 COAG reviewed its Ministerial Councils, noting that matters of cultural mutual interest could be progressed outside the Ministerial Council framework. CMC held its final meeting on 12 August 2011 in Sydney and agreed to continue work through the Meeting of Cultural Ministers that commenced in 2012.

Ministers usually met once a year and were assisted by a Standing Committee of senior government officials. Over the life of CMC, 35 additional working groups were established to progress CMC priorities.