The Meeting of Cultural Ministers takes place annually. Meetings cover areas of national significance and mutual interest, including the creative arts, performing arts, Indigenous culture, film and digital media, and collections.

Following each meeting the discussions and outcomes are summarised and made publicly available via communique.

The secretariat for the Meeting of Cultural Ministers rotates among the jurisdictions. The current secretariat is the Government of South Australia.

The Meeting of Cultural Ministers is advised and assisted by an Officials Working Group and has a number of working groups which progress government priorities, such as the collection of cultural data and the National Arts and Disability Strategy.