The 2023 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards are now open for entries.

2023 Prime Minister's Literart Awards entries now open.

The 2023 Prime Minister's Literary Awards recognise and celebrate the exceptional literary talents of established and emerging Australian writers, illustrators, poets and historians.

We are seeking entries of high literary merit and, in the case of the prize for Australian history, scholarly accomplishment.

The Awards honour excellence in Australian literature and those who have had a work published during 2022 are eligible to enter the 2023 Awards in one of 6 categories:

  1. children's literature
  2. young adult literature
  3. fiction
  4. poetry
  5. non-fiction
  6. Australian history.

Entries should be made through GrantConnect before Tuesday 25 July 2023, 3.00pm (AEST).

Australian history entries can be submitted in a range of formats including journals, magazines, an interactive or online project, film or documentary.

The transfer of the Awards to Creative Australia was announced on 30 January 2023 in Revive: a place for every story, a story for every place. Management of the Awards will transition to Creative Australia this year and then to Writers Australia once established in 2025.

The Awards will continue to play an important role in supporting a national appreciation of Australian literature and the major contribution it makes to connecting Australians to our stories, our history and to our values. The close connection with Writers Australia should lead to great outcomes for the literature sector.