The Prime Minister's Literary Awards celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation's cultural and intellectual life.

Each year, we invite entries for books of high literary merit, and in the case of the Prize for Australian History, scholarly accomplishment.

Awards are presented in six categories;

  • Fiction
  • non-fiction
  • young adult fiction
  • children's fiction
  • poetry
  • Australian history.

Up to $100,000 is awarded in each category: $80,000 for each winner and $5,000 each for shortlisted entries. All prizes are tax-free.

Join the conversation by using our hashtag #PMLitAwards.


Prime Minister's Literary Awards
Department of Communications and the Arts

Phone: 1800 707 889
Email: PMLiteraryAwards [at]

History of the awards

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards began in 2008. The awards recognise individual excellence and the contribution Australian authors make to the nation's cultural and intellectual life.

In 2008 and 2009, awards were given in fiction and non-fiction categories. In 2010, categories were introduced for young adult fiction and children’s fiction, and in 2012 a poetry category was added and the Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History was incorporated into the awards.

Judging panels 

The judging panels are responsible for making recommendations to the Prime Minister for the shortlists and winners across each of the categories. The Prime Minister makes the final decision.