Entries to the 2018 Prime Minister's Literary Awards are now open.

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards celebrate great Australian literature.

The winner of each category—fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, poetry, young adult literature and children's literature—is awarded $80,000 tax free. Shortlisted entries are each awarded $5000 tax free.

Entries are sought each year for books of high literary merit, and in the case of the Prize for Australian History, scholarly accomplishment.

The book must be professionally edited and published. Digital books will be accepted only if they are also available in printed (bound) form. Non-book entries to the Australian history prize must be made by a registered Australian company.

You must be a citizen or permanent resident of Australia to enter the Awards.

Entries close Wednesday 9 May 2018.

The guidelines are available on the Australian Government’s GrantConnectwebsite.

Apply by using the ‘Apply Now’ button below.

A copy of the 2018 entry guidelines is available below.