Shortlist year: 
Shortlist category: 
Published by: 
University of Queensland Press

About the book

Thea Astley—book—Australian history—PMLA 2016

This is the first book-length biography of Thea Astley, one of our most critically acclaimed writers. She was the first woman to win  the Miles Franklin Award multiple times—four in total. With many of her works published internationally, Astley was a trailblazer for women writers.

Karen Lamb has drawn on an unparalleled range of interviews and correspondence to create a detailed picture of Thea the woman, as well as Astley the writer. She has sought to understand Astleys private world and how that shaped the distinctive body of work that is Thea Astleys literary legacy.