Artists will be entitled to royalty payments when their work is resold overseas after changes to the Resale Royalty Right Scheme to commence 31 March 2024.

Artist Wendy Sharpe stands amongst her colourful paintings and artworks.
Wendy Sharpe by Riste Adrieski. Copyright Agency.

Previously, visual artists were entitled to a resale royalty for eligible artworks resold commercially for $1,000 or more in Australia. Now, these entitlements will expand to include 17 countries that have entered into reciprocal arrangements with Australia, commencing 31 March 2024.

This means that Australian artists will receive royalties when their eligible artworks are resold in these countries, and artists from these countries will receive royalty payments for their eligible artworks resold in Australia.

The 17 countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

It is anticipated that Australia will enter into reciprocal arrangements with more countries in future.

The Resale Right Royalty Scheme is administered by the Copyright Agency as the appointed collecting society in Australia.

Since its commencement, the scheme has generated more than $14 million in royalty payments for around 2,700 artists from more than 32,000 sales.

More information: