The National Cultural Heritage Committee assesses applications for export permits and funding applications from the National Cultural Heritage Account. It also advises the Minister for the Arts.

The National Cultural Heritage Committee is made up of ten people with expertise in Australia's cultural heritage.

The Committee is responsible for:

  • assessing export permit applications and making recommendations to the Minister for the Arts about if a permit should be granted
  • assessing funding applications from the National Cultural Heritage Account
  • assessing expert examiner applications
  • advising the Minister for the Arts about issues related to cultural heritage.

The Minister for the Arts appoints the Committee under the Protection of Movable Cultural Heritage Act 1986. Members serve for terms of up to four years. They can be reappointed.

The Committee is made up of:

  • four people from different collecting institutions
  • an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander nominated by the Minister for Indigenous Affairs
  • an individual nominated by Universities Australia
  • four people with experience relevant to the cultural heritage of Australia.

The current members are:

  • Dr Patrick Greene OBE—Former Chief Executive Officer, Museum Victoria
  • Professor Duncan Chappell—Adjunct Professor Sydney Law School University of Sydney, Conjoint Professor School of Psychiatry University of New South Wales
  • Mr Joseph Eisenberg OAM—Former Cultural Director Emeritus, Maitland Regional Art Gallery
  • Professor Suzanne Miller—Queensland Chief Scientist and CEO and Director, Queensland Museum Network
  • Dr Graeme Were—Associate Professor Anthropology and Museum Studies and Head of Anthropology, School of Social Science University of Queensland
  • Ms Margie West AM—Emeritus Curator of Aboriginal Art and Material Culture, Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory
  • Dr Janda Gooding—Deputy Director, Collections and Content National Museum of Australia
  • Ms Lisa Slade—Assistant Director, Artistic Programs Art Gallery of South Australia
  • Associate Professor Henrietta Marrie—Office of Indigenous Engagement, Central Queensland University (Cairns).